Can You Be in Love With More Than One Person at a Time?

Can you be in love with more than one person at a time?

This article brings up an interesting question, one which has many supporters on both sides. I personally have liked more than one person at a time and it kind of worked for a while but I always felt pressured to choose between them. Therefore I am more with the writer of this article when he says that to build a very strong relationship takes all of your attention, not just a fraction. Now that I am in a fairly strong relationship, I feel like it would consume all of my time if I were to be in another relationship as well. However, I think it is definitely dependent on each partner in the relationship and what kind of relationship they are looking for. I would imagine that having two separate relationships verses one collective relationship between multiple people would also make a difference. I am open to the possibility and think that for some it could certainly work. Here is what Johnny Depp has to say on the matter:

“If you love two people at the same time, choose the second one. Because if you really loved the first one, then you wouldn’t have fallen for the second.” —Johnny Depp

I’d love to hear what all of you think. Do you think it is possible to love more than one person at a time? Do you think it is possible to have more than one functioning relationship at a time?

2 thoughts on “Can You Be in Love With More Than One Person at a Time?

  1. I would hate to think that our hearts are so closed that we don’t have enough in us to love more than one person. I think you can love more than one person, but that there is different variations of love.

    • I agree with you that there is different variations of love and the title of the article is kind of ambiguous as to the type of love it’s addressing, which I believe is deep romantic love. I think that in our lives we can feel deep romantic love for many people at different times but the question being asked is if we can feel such deep romantic love for multiple people simultaneously.

Leave a Reply

